Aditi Ashok- The Current Teen Golf Sensation of India


By Madhusree Chowdhury

Aditi Ashok is the Indian teenage professional golfer, who has become the first and youngest Indian to win the Lalla Aicha Tour School that brought her the Ladies European Tour card for 2016 session. Aditi was born in the year 1998 on 29th March in Bangalore, India. She started playing golf when she was only 5 years of old. She did her schooling from The Frank Anthony Public School, Bangalore and completed her 12th standard in the year 2016. Her father, Pandit Gudlamani Ashok is her caddy and her golfing inspiration.

Aditi was the youngest winner of a Q-School for an international tour in 2016. She also achieved the title of the first and the only Indian golfer till date, who played in the Asian Youth Game in 2013, Youth Olympic Games in 2014, Asian Games in 2014 and Olympic Games in 2016. She won the title of the Hero Women’s Indian Open in 2016. Her score was 3-under-par 213. This led her to become the first Indian woman to win a Ladies European Tour Title. Her second international win of the year 2016 was just 14 days after her 1st win. She won the Qatar Ladies Open and thus conquered the second position in the Oder of Merit. She got qualified for the LPGA Tournament 2017 by checking out the LPGA Final Qualifying Tournament.

As an amateur golfer Aditi Ashok won many titles like the 2011 USHA Karnataka Junior, Southern India Junior, Faldo Series Asia- India, East India Tolly Ladies, All India Championship, 2012 USHA Delhi Ladies, USHA Army Championship, All India Junior, 2013 Asia Pacific Junior Championship, 2014 Eastern India Ladies Amateur, USHA IGU All India Ladies & Girls Championship, 2015 Army Ladies & Junior Championship, St Rule Trophy, Southern India Ladies & Junior Girls Championship, Ladies’ British Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship, Thailand Amateur Open.

Her professional victories so far is the 2016 Hero Women’s Indian Open, Qatar Ladies Open and 2011 Hero Professional Tour Leg 1, Hero Professional Tour Leg 3. She represented India on Espirito Santo Trophy in 2012 and 2014.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here